Six people, six secrets. One night, one party, one hideous accident that blows everything apart. My young-adult novel wtf (Simon Pulse) is intense, funny, and raw (for older, mature readers!) — the kind of off-the-wall, pulse-pounding adventure I like to read.  Watch the video and then read what reviewers have to say!

1000640 Library Journal: “Shortly after nine p.m. on a Friday evening in October, things fall apart for six young adults tangled together by drug deals, debts, and greed. The cinematic narrative flashes forward and back and alternates among the various characters’ viewpoints over the course of one night. Lerangis’s novel demonstrates how one stupid decision can have a wicked snowball effect that leaves everyone asking, ‘WTF’?…. Fans of David Levithan and Rachel Cohn’s Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist will appreciate this even faster paced, smart-aleck-toned partying misadventure, and the steady action and short chapters will appeal to reluctant readers.”

1000640 “surreal … very believable, smart urban teens … teens will be eager to see how Lerangis stitches [the plot points] all together … and the event-filled chases through the streets of Manhattan will remind readers of Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist.”

1000640/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/wtf_voya_review.pdfVOYA (Voice of Youth Advocates): “Written in ever-widening circles and loops, this novel’s structure nearly becomes a character in its own right, lending an unpredictability and urgency to the events. The pacing of the story is well done, and when a chapter moves back to another character in a different place, clues help the reader to switch gears. The story takes place predominantly on one night (with only a few necessary flashbacks), making the read compulsive and surreal. Male and female characters from a variety of backgrounds will give the book broad appeal.… Sex, drugs, and strong language are prevalent —as might be supposed by the title … giving an air of realism to a horrifying night.”

1000640/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/BCCB_wtf_review.pdfBulletin of the Center for Children’s Books: “Plot-rich and quirky, with echoes of the Coen brothers and Weekend at Bernie’s.”

1000640 Weekly: “Action-packed from first page to last … with danger and surprises around nearly every corner.”

1000640 “From the shocking beginning to an ending that still manages to surprise, this is one book readers won’t be able to put down.”

1000640’s Book Blog: “wtf was an awesome book. I read the whole thing in one day because once I started it I couldn’t put it down. It was so good and I just had to know how everything was going to end…. I laughed out loud so many times at all of the impossible situations … it will keep you enthralled from beginning to the very end.”